Search SBL

Status of Women in the Profession Outstanding Service in Mentoring Awards

Each year at the SBL Annual Meeting, CSWP honors women who have been excellent mentors to women in the field. These mentors have provided invaluable guidance, advice, and encouragement. They serve as role models and assist other women in navigating career choices, building professional networks, and developing strategies for personal growth and work-life balance. By virtue of their mentorship, they have taken us a step further in promoting gender equity, gender diversity, and women’s professional status in the field. CSWP honors mentors in order to recognize their contributions and to encourage mentoring relationships.

Recognizing that mentorship looks different in various cultural contexts, we invite members to nominate women who they see as outstanding mentors. This could include those who they see as going above and beyond for others, acting as role models, helping others to gain insight and confidence, providing substantive feedback and encouragement, opening up access to opportunities and professional development, and helping people to find intellectual homes in the field. We take an expansive view of mentorship, recognizing that a mentor does not necessarily have to be a doctoral advisor or sponsor, and can include mentors at all stages of their career. 

To nominate a member, please send your nomination with a descriptive letter of endorsement to Meira Kensky ( Your letter should include specific examples of how the mentor supported you and others in some of the ways outlined above (or other ways). We welcome letters written by multiple senders; letters should describe the impact the mentor has had on the nominator(s) over the course of their career. Nominations should be received by June 1. 

Please join us in congratulating the 2023 Status of Women in the Profession Mentor Award recipients:


Candida Moss is the Edward Cadbury Professor of Theology at the University of Birmingham. Her research interests include the history and representation of martyrdom; ideas about the resurrection of the body; disability studies; and enslaved literate workers and the making of early Christian literature. The award-winning author of seven books including Ancient Christian Martyrdom and Divine Bodies: Resurrecting Perfection in the New Testament and Early Christianity, she also does public facing scholarship as a columnist for The Daily Beast and Papal News Contributor for CBS News. She is a founding member of the Disabilities and Accessibility Task Force.


Elaine Goh Wei Fun is a lecturer in the Old Testament Studies and the Dean of Studies in Seminari Theoloji Malaysia (STM). She was an Engle Scholar in Princeton Theological Seminary during 2006-2007 where she obtained her Master of Theology. She earns her Doctor of Theology from South East Asia Graduate School of Theology/ATESEA Theological Union and her main area of research is in the Old Testament studies specialized in Wisdom Literature. The title she recently has published is Cross-textual Reading of Ecclesiastes and the Analects (Eugene, Pickwick publications, 2019). Her published articles include “She Is More Bitter Than Death”: Reading Ecclesiastes 7:23–8:1 as an Asian Chinese,” in Reading Ecclesiastes from Asia and Pacifica (Atlanta: SBL Press, 2020): 115-126, and “Even if (God Does) Not, We Will Not,” in From Malaysia to the Ends of the Earth: Southeast Asian and Diasporic Contributions to Biblical and Theological Studies, edited by Elaine Wei-Fun Goh, Kah-Jin Jeffrey Kuan, Jonathan Yun-Ka Tan and Amos Wai-Ming Yong (Claremont, CA: Claremont Press, 2021): 43-57.


Past Mentor Award recipients include:

2022 - Felicity Harley-McGowan, Hindy Najman, and Jacqueline Vayntrub
2021 - Mary Foskett
2020 - Devorah Dimant
2019 - Elizabeth A. Castelli and Beverly Roberts Gaventa
2018 - Karen H. Jobes
2017 - Eileen Schuller
2016 - Gale Yee
2015 - April DeConick
2014 - Ann Brock
2013 - Elizabeth Struthers Malbon and Cheryl Kirk-Duggan
2012 - Helen R. Graham, M.M.
2011 - Barbara Reid and Musa Dube
2010 - Adele Reinhartz and Pamela Milne
2009 - Kathleen O'Brien Wicker 
2008 - Carol Meyers
2007 - Sharon Ringe
2006 - Marion Taylor and Donna Dykes
2005 - Mary Rose D'Angelo, Toni Craven, and Carol Newsom
2004 - Carolyn Osiek and Rebecca Idelstrom
2003 - Susan Hollis, Adele Reinhartz and Katharine Doob Sakenfeld
2002 - Athalya Brenner, Adela Yarbro Collins, Joanne Dewey, Ross Kraemer, and Phyllis Trible
2001 - Agneta Enermalm Tsiparis and Amy-Jill Levine


More information on the Status of Women in the Profession committee



© 2024, Society of Biblical Literature. All Rights Reserved.